off the leash by matthew gilbert

OFF THE LEASH is about the strange, wonderful, neurotic, and eccentric dog people who gather daily at Amory Park, overlooking Boston. And it’s about Matthew Gilbert’s transformation from dedicated homebody to joyful member of the dog park club: an oddball group of dog people with fur on their jackets and biscuits in their pockets.  Gilbert, the TV critic at the Boston Globe, describes his reluctant journey into the park subculture, as the first-time dog owner of a yellow lab named Toby. Like so many Americans right now, he has been steeped in the virtual, digital world. At the park, though, amid the chaotic energy of dogs and people gathered in packs, he is unprotected by the screen and forced to let go.  The dogs go off-leash, and so do the people.

There is something eternal and deeply satisfying about both the group experience at the park and the simple pleasure of playing fetch with one’s canine companion in a large, green, open space. A charmingly written narrative that will appeal to anyone who has ever enjoyed watching a puppy scamper through a park, OFF THE LEASH is a paean to dog lovers and their pets everywhere, perfect for fans of Marley and Me and Merle’s Door.

Buy Book:

Release Date: July 29, 2014 from St. Martin’s Press

  • 240 pages
  • ISBN: 978-1-250-01422-1 (hardcover)
  • ISBN: 978-1-250-01421-4 (e-book)

The book is based on this piece from the Boston Globe